If your employer has failed to perform their legal duties concerning your wages, our Orange County wage and hour lawyers at Aegis Law Firm can help you enforce your rights. We will fight for you to make sure you receive any compensation that is due to you.
If you are in dispute with your employer over your wages, we can help you. Call us today at (949) 379-6250 for a free consultation and assessment of your case.
When you enter an employer-employee relationship, one of the implicit terms is that you will receive your pay in full and on time. As an employee, working to provide for yourself and your family, you rely on every cent that is due to you. When your employer fails to keep their end of the employment bargain by paying you what is due to you on time, this may cause you financial hardship.
Federal and California labor laws set the standards for workers in the state. The federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), the California Labor Code, and California Industrial Welfare Commission’s (IWC) Wage Orders, provide tough protections for workers in the state.
Some of the most common issues that workers deal with include:
The California minimum wage for employers with 25 or fewer employees is $14 per hour. For employers with 26 or more employees, it is $15 per hour. All employees in California, with the exception of the following must be paid the minimum wage:
All employees entitled to minimum wage must be paid at least the minimum wage. Employers and employees cannot enter an agreement for a wage that is less than the minimum.
Under California law, generally, employees cannot be employed for more than eight hours in any workday, or more than 40 hours in any workweek unless they receive overtime pay for any hours worked beyond that.
By law, the rate of overtime pay is one and one-half times a person’s regular rate of pay for employees who work over eight hours in one day, or over 40 hours in the workweek. The rate of overtime pay increases to double the employee’s regular rate of pay if the employee works for more than 12 hours in any workday, and any hours worked in excess of eight on the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek.
There are exceptions to the general overtime law. There are some employees for whom these overtime rates do not apply. They include: persons employed in healthcare, camp counselors, personal attendants employed by nonprofit organizations, ambulance drivers and attendants, live-in employees, and union employees. Persons employed in executive, administrative, professional, and other designated positions are also exempt from the general overtime rules.
If you are not sure whether you are entitled to overtime or what rate of overtime you are entitled to, you should speak with an Orange County wage and hour attorney who will help you understand your rights.
If your employer violates the wage and hour laws of California, you may be entitled to legal remedies. Depending on the facts of your case, you may be entitled to compensation for your unpaid wages and overtime, interest payments on the amount wrongfully withheld by your employer, as well as attorney’s fees.
If you have worked without receiving regular or overtime pay, worked with no breaks, or worked for below the minimum wage, you should take action immediately. California law is on your side. Call the Aegis Law Firm for more information about how our Orange County wage and hour lawyers can help you get compensation for the damages you suffered. Your initial consultation is free, and you pay no fees unless we win. Call us today at (949) 379-6250.